I really appreciate how this site has removed charging credits for searching, or at least you can see more from the search results without paying.  That’s really helpful, and I’ve come way further lately than I have in years.

However, it’s still comparatively expensive.  I bit the bullet and paid for some credits – 40, I thought, would be enough for a while.  At six credits per view, that didn’t last long.  £10 was gone in a flash. I managed to view (and, admittedly, save) two death entries, a marriage entry and two census returns – doesn’t sound much.  On one of the census returns, the entry was over two pages so I had to pay 12 credits – hardly seems fair.  By comparison, if I’d paid £20 for a month at FindmyPast, I could have searched and viewed hundreds of entries.

I do wish they’d change their payment method.  But, of course, they won’t because they’re raking in the cash this way.  Damn them.  My Scottish research will have to wait, still.

