I’ve started a spreadsheet of the main ancestors and have done three families.  It helps me to figure out what I’m missing.  I realised I didn’t have the birth or death certificates of my great grandmother, so I ordered those and also ordered the likely death certificate of her father who died at the age of 40.

Today I spent all day looking over the Jones and Powell families.  I  may have mentioned that I found Anne Phillips and her brother John and found likely christenings for them in Pontesbury, Shropshire.

I found a reference to a Humphrey Jones on a website.  He was a Church warden in Pontesbury and was buried in 1793.  I’ve kept a note of it in case he fits in somewhere.  I also found probable additional children of Richard and Anne, one of them named Humphrey!  They were all born in Church Pulverbatch about the right time to Richard and Anne Jones.

I mentioned before that Richard Jones and Sarah Wall may be the parents of the above Richard.  I found a marriage of these two in 1788 in Condover in a Parish register.  William Wall was a witness.  With the information I found possible christenings of Sarah and William Wall in 1749 and 1759 in Condover, children of John and Priscilla Wall.

I did a search for Edward Powell and Ann Richardson, a couple who were on my grandmother’s handwritten family tree but who I can’t find anywhere.  They appeared on the family tree of another ancestry member so I’ve asked how they’ve connected them to Richard Powell.

I can’t find Richard or Anne Jones on the 1841 census.  I also can’t find details of Catherine Jones – either her birth, marriage or death.  I’ve got dates from someone’s family tree but I can’t confirm these.  The birth date is only approximate from census returns.

I did find Catherine staying with her sister Elizabeth Mansell in 1851.  This solves a problem of who “Mrs Mansell” was on the back of a painting of one of the Jones girls.  It’s Elizabeth.  That leaves only one mystery painting to solve – Mrs Goff (or Gough).

On the whole, a successful day.  It’s taken me close to 9 hours of research.

