The researcher previously mentioned said she must’ve made a mistake, confusing my tree with another’s.  Anyway, she sent me heaps of documents relating to my great-grandfather’s family – marriage, birth and death certificates, maps and information.  Awesome!

I continued with the hints on the family tree and linked census returns and other records to the individuals on the tree.  I already had copies in folders, but for some reason hadn’t linked these.  I did this for Rose and Mudd families.

My ‘Family Tree Maker’ program no longer worked on my 64 bit computer and it seems you have to pay for an upgrade.  I wasn’t prepared to do that.  I’m quite happy with tribalpages.com for a family tree.  I just needed a GEDCOM reader to read the downloaded file.  I had a look at recommendations for free genealogy programs and the three that seemed the most popular were LDS’ PAF, Gramps and Ahnenblatt.  I didn’t like PAF – too simplistic and clunky.  Gramps was a huge file and not intuitive at all.  I didn’t like it.  So, of the three I decided on Ahnenblatt.  It allowed the upload of photos too, which is handy.

As I’ve made a few changes to the online tree, I will have to download another version for Ahnenblatt and re-insert photos – which was very quick anyway.  For some reason I had my maternal great-grandfather’s birth date incorrect, even though I possess a copy of his death certificate.  I really need to go through my physical notes with a fine-tooth comb and double check everything.

