I logged onto ancestry.com and found a message from a fellow researcher who thought I had some families mixed up.  I couldn’t see where, so have sent her details I have and asked what she means.

While there, I reviewed some hints and linked a few census returns and BMD details (which I already had saved but hadn’t linked on the tree there).  Other researchers differ on details on the surname of Matthew Darlington’s wife.  Although they appear to have the same person (other details match), one puts his wife’s surname as Malam (which I had) and the other as Johnson.  There are some differences in birth places too so someone somewhere may have the wrong record (although dates seem to be the same).

I had a look at the Rose side of the family and found more details for Hannah Reynolds, connected to the Reeve family.  That’s branching out a bit.

I then looked at hints for Mary Rose, nee Mudd.  I found national probate details at her death in 1900.  She left 1240 pounds, 10s 4d to one of her sons.  I remember my great aunt mentioning something along these lines.  Because Mary had left everything to him, he made sure that his sisters (of which there were 10!) were left money on his death.  I think  he only left it to the younger sisters.  I will have to go back to my aunt’s letter, in which she mentions this.  So, nice to see evidence of the will.

All the above took me a long time and the sun is shining and I have much to do, so I must stop there for now.

