Well, I’ve got something out of joining the NZ genealogical society – reference to a very useful toolbar full of genealogy links.  The Manchester/Lancashire family history society developed it – brilliant idea.  I don’t have any family history related to that area but the links are broad – including some very useful Australian links, Scottish, Irish, etc.  You can download it here.

Yes, I finally received the NZSG magazine (after joining in April).  It doesn’t have a great deal in it relevant to me.  For a start they list some very handy workshops but they’re all based in Auckland.  Too bad if you don’t live in Auckland.  The national fair is in Hamilton.  Ditto – too bad.  Naturally there were lots of articles related to New Zealand records.  This I expected.  It did have an article about writing up the family tree which was quite handy – and, of course, mention of the handy toolbar.

I then had another think about regional family history societies and if Manchester were so onto it (obviously miles ahead of paper-based societies) I wondered how the Hampshire society fared.  I was a member of the society back in the 90s (pre-internet).  Surely now it would be very useful.  So I went online and lo and behold you can join online from overseas for a very reasonable £13 – way better than the $80 for the NZ fee and probably more useful.  So I joined.  There is even free postage for the magazine (why these are not online, I don’t know).  So at least UK societies finally acknowledge the internet, unlike many Aussie societies (or so it seems).

I received some more titbits of family info from my aunt in Australia (now 89).  She pointed out that parents and grandparents back then didn’t talk about their childhood and families – something which I had been aware of but had forgotten.  What a shame.  Think of the rich histories we’d have if they had done!

